Central Asia Energy – Water Development Program

Funding Agency World Bank, European Union, SDC, UKAID, USAID

Implementing Agency World Bank

Budget: €23,000,000.00

Country: Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan

Start Year: 2010

End Year: 2017

Link: Find out more

Description: CAEWDP was formally established as a trust fund in 2010 by the Government of Switzerland and the World Bank. The Program supports the Central Asian (CA) countries (Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan) and the World Bank’s twin goals to reduce poverty and ensure shared prosperity through long-term economic growth and sustainability. By balancing donor support with national and regional objectives, CAEWDP is able to enhance cooperation and the promotion of integrated energy and water development initiatives at the regional as well as national levels. The Program activities address the three pillars of Energy Development, Water Productivity, and Energy-Water Linkages by producing three outcomes: support for diagnostics and analysis, preparation of investments, and the strengthening of national and regional institutions. In 2014, CAEWDP underwent a transformational change, as the focus of CAEWDP activities evolved from diagnostics and analytics to technical assistance (TA) and investment identification.

Sector: Water, Energy

Beneficiaries: Central asia countries governments